top of page

Hopeland Diaries #1

Updated: Jun 30, 2022

In my view, Hopeland is an island of tranquility ...

... I had a lot of worries when I signed up for the Zero Waste Challenge Erasmus+ program, and especially when we were on our way to the airport, but Hopeland dispelled it all. I was worried about isleeping in tents for 10 days, but it turned out that there were a number of beds available in the guest house, too. I was worried that i cannot eat meat for two weeks, but instead, I could learn a lot of exciting vegan and vegetarian recipes. I was worried I wouldn’t have someone to talk to, but everyone was open and very nice and I could make a lot of new friends from Greece, Italy, Latvia and many other countries. I was worried that the four programs a day would be stressful, but the camp leaders had planned it so as not to overwhelme us, yet we would face new challenges every day.


Perhaps one of my favorite days was when the Greenpeace Roots sub-organization came to us and we had to solve one of the problems in our country on a theoretical level - we chose to cleanse the river Sajó from pollution - with a series of different tasks like SWOT analysis and mind mapping.


The other task I loved very much was when we were modeling a UN meeting. We represented the European Union and it was our common task with all countries to reduce the global warming to below 2 ° C within a certain period of time in three rounds of negotiations. And together, we made it!


Hopeland is an island of tranquility because anyone who travels there can enjoy love, attention and care in a beautiful setting while learning a lot of new things.
3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page